Everything happens for a reason

I recently had to take action against a man raping and otherwise abusing my sister.  She had been scared to tell me but finally did, at the end of a three-day period I happened to have off from work.  I was glad to have had those days off!  How much longer would this have gone on if the timing of my days off had been different?

I was telling some of this to a friend who knows I am an atheist.  Of course she said, “See, everything happens for a reason!”

Are you saying that God introduced my sister to an abusive, manipulative rapist for the sole purpose of having me save her from said rapist?

And I thought the rapist was manipulative.

[And another thing!  You’re going to thank God because I chose to spend my time off with my sister?  Either you are a jerk for saying it or God is a jerk for demanding the credit for what I did.  Or there is no God.  QED! 🙂 ]

I need to have a better way to say that I can hardly be thankful to god for getting people out of trouble if god is the one who got them into trouble in the first place.  But then, bad things always get blamed on the devil or sin nature.  I guess I used to believe it too; that’s why I try to be gentle.  It would be hypocritical of me to be angry at people for believing the same things I once fell for. 

Or should I be blunt?  I wonder if I would have de-converted earlier if someone had shaken me and told me how ridiculous I was being.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Everything happens for a reason”

  1. Postman Says:

    “I need to have a better way to say that I can hardly be thankful to god for getting people out of trouble if god is the one who got them into trouble in the first place.”

    Personally, I like “Thank you, Sky-Daddy.”

  2. Tony Sidaway Says:

    This person is a friend? Wow!

Leave a Reply

