Hypocrisy

Disclaimer: yes, I’m an atheist who goes to church.  I do it for my marriage.  For now.

I usually go to “marriage enrichment” Sunday school class, which is pretty good times generally, despite the dorky name.  The class is taking a few weeks off for “bonded marriage” classes– that’s a positive name for step-families, which Christians generally don’t admit to, since divorce is ungodly and remarriage is adultery according to Jesus.  But there are a LOT of divorces and remarriages in the church.  And it’s not that I don’t approve of Christians helping families; obviously I do.  But I realized how hypocritical it is to be inclusive of an activity that Jesus explicitly condemned– divorce and remarriage– while passing out “Yes on 8” signs every weekend and complaining about a re-definition of marriage.  The head pastor has explicitly said, regarding gay marriage, “we cannot negotiate with God”– but apparently there is no problem in supporting the sin of divorce and remarriage.  So this is the first time in 28 years I have seen such blatant hypocrisy in a church.

I asked the teacher today (he was in his second marriage also), why the double standard?  He gave me the “one man one woman” answer.  I said, well, if you’re going to extend respectability to this group, why not extend that same grace to gay couples?  He didn’t really have an answer.  If I was a different sort of person, I might have said REPENT OF YOUR SIN YOU ADULTURING BLASPHEMER or something equally pointed.  But uhh, I didn’t.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Hypocrisy”

  1. Sisyphus Fragment Says:

    “REPENT OF YOUR SIN YOU ADULTURING BLASPHEMER”

    That would have been great! I wish I had been a little older when I was forced to go to church, I might have pointed out things like that too. At least I hope I would have.

  2. morechristlike Says:

    Les McFall has an interested way to deal with the exception clause in Matthew 19:9. He has written a 43 page paper that reviews the changes in the Greek made by Erasmus that effect the way Matthew 19:9 has been translated. I reviewed McFall’s paper at http://morechristlike.com/except-for-fornication- clause-of-matthew-19-9/ Except For Fornication Clause of Matthew 19:9. I would love to hear some feedback on this position.

  3. The illusion of privacy « Not really Alice Says:

    […] I went to our church marriage class last week. We had quit for awhile because they were having a series on step-families. So now they are doing a video series. And on the first day of this, we notice something new: a […]

Leave a Reply

