The Christian radio this morning

My husband called me today and asked, “Have you listened to ‘Air One’ at all today?”

Air One is a Christian station that plays that young hip alternative music.  And the fact that my husband thought it likely that I would listen to it does not speak well of his understanding of his wife.

But anyways, if I had been listening, I’d have heard that the Christians are taking this Republican defeat really badly.  They are playing sad music and basically framing Obama’s win in terms of God’s loss– but then they remember that God anoints all leaders.  And on and on.

My husband, who is a Christian, is very amused.  “Did they look at their options??  Didn’t they see that McCain had an affair and remarried?  I thought they wanted to vote for a Christian??”  Not that that’s all that matters, my husband certainly knows that, but he’s so frustrated with the Evangelicals. 

“I told you,” I said, “I told you that the Evangelicals got bought by the Republicans.”  And boy did they get a bargain. 

“Forget that,” my husband says.  “If that’s what it means to be a Christian, I’m not a Christian.”

I’ll get to him eventually!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Christian radio this morning”

  1. coogan607 Says:

    I’ve been warning my best friend–a Christian–that he has as much to fear from the fundies as the rest of us. He goes to the local “thinking geek’s church,” Xenos. I don’t know their doctrine, but they discuss the bible in historical perspective and use Powerpoint slides in their services. Whatever. He’s not a fundie, but he still professes to be Christian.

    I dunno. Can someone be a “liberal” thinker and still be Christian? Given the Christian right’s reaction to Obama, it seems not. I wonder if he knows this?

  2. notreallyalice Says:

    A Christian can absolutely be a liberal or progressive, but it’s not the majority. The groups that have the most funding are the ones who make their voices heard. But you can check out a group called “the simple way” as well as one called “Sojourners” for a refreshing movement among Christians. If they are the future of Christianity I just might go back to church. Willingly, I mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

