God will protect us

My husband and I were discussing the sorry state of affairs that is the youth ministry at his church, and in churches generally. The specific thing that bothers me (indoctrination of children aside…) is that these youth pastor positions usually require a ministerial degree. So you get these fresh young pastors heading up the Jr. High ministry, which is otherwise staffed by volunteers (such as my husband). The problem is that these young pastors are probably carrying university debts up to $80k from attending those private Christian colleges– and their salaries are around $20 a year. On top of that, the youth group my husband works with is extremely understaffed and unable to deal with the problems that arise when you get about 200 pre-teens in a room together and try to teach them about Our Lord And Savior. It’s mostly good fun and I know that it’s important for teens to have access to non-parental units. But it’s also incredibly difficult. And they have a budget of $0 from the church.

So we were talking about this the other day, and my husband says, “Oh, you’ll love this one. The church has to put together a security unit for the head pastor.”

What??

“There have been some threats, and last weekend a staffperson saw a guest in the congregation making a map of the place.”

I admit that is disturbing and I can see why they’d want some security for the guy. But apparently, this all started around Prop 8 time while the church was active in working to pass it. When my husband said this, I had to wonder: “Are they surprised? What did they think was going to happen when they actively worked to remove rights from a minority group which has been campaigning for their civil rights for over 30 years? You didn’t think there would be a lot of anger?”

I’m not saying the pastor deserves whatever violence he gets; quite the opposite. I’m just wondering… Didn’t he do what his God required of him? Didn’t he obey and convince others to obey? Isn’t this what generally happens when you stand up for God against popular opinion? So shouldn’t he take it like a man, take one for the team, take one for God?

But most of all, can’t God protect him?

The truth is, Christians talk a lot about how powerful their God is, but they don’t believe the half of it. They will canvass and vote and then praise God when the proposition passes. They will form a security team and sing halleluiah when violence is intercepted. And they’ll go to the doctor for an emergency and say “Thank God” after the surgery goes well.  If God was so powerful, they wouldn’t need to attribute their own works to His.

In Prop 8 news, California Attorney General Jerry Brown filed a brief in favor of repealing it. This came as a surprise to many until they realized he was probably going to be running for governor against Gavin Newsom. And he’ll need that gay progressive hippie liberal vote. On the other hand… it’s not like that group has been too powerful lately. So kudos to Brown, and hopeful kudos in advance to the Justices, for not backing down even when threatened with a recall. When did all the bigoted assholes move to my state?

Man I sure hope California gets its reputation back. This whole anti-gay thing is embarrassing.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “God will protect us”

  1. coogan607 Says:

    Yeah, just try to tell a Christian that they’re hearing voices the next time they tell you “god told me.” They don’t tend to react very well to that. Heh. But you have to wonder …

    I had a “friendly” debate with my adult stepdaughter about this, and asked her why she couldn’t give credit to her own good judgment, instead of god. I didn’t get a good answer. But maybe she’s beginning to wonder about it.

    You know as well as I do that “god helps those that help themselves.” There are no points for expecting god to help you. But of course, if things work out, he still gets the credit. I want a job like that. 🙂

    • notreallyalice Says:

      “why she couldn’t give credit to her own good judgment, instead of god.”

      My husband would say, because god gave him the good judgment to begin with.

      There’s always an answer if they want it bad enough. But then, religious people say the same thing about atheists, who are just refusing to submit to god because they want to sin. Fortunately, atheism has the advantage of being disprovable. (Plus, I think I’m actually sinning less now that I’m not a Christian…)

Leave a Reply

