sin

I accidentally made my Mormon housemate sin again.  (The first time was when I made chile with coffee in it.)

“Alice, that bread pudding was really good!  What’d you put in it?”

“Uh, stale bread, milk, cream, vanilla, eggs… nutmeg…”

“What made it tangy?  Was that lemon?”

“Oh.  No.  That was the rum.”

“Rum??”

“Yeah.”  [Here I mimed pouring in a lot of rum]  “Glug, glug, glug.”

“But… it was baked, right?”

“Yes, it was baked.”

This from a woman who, on finding her dog had eaten spilled coffee grounds, exclaimed, “Oh, no!  Annie, you’ve sinned!”  I am pretty sure she was joking.  She then added, “You won’t be able to go to Paradise with me!”

Hmm.  “Do dogs get to go to Mormon heaven?” I inquired.

She didn’t know.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “sin”

  1. Davis Says:

    keep up the good work!

  2. ditchu Says:

    Answer to the Dog goes to heaven…

    Yes! In the LDS Philosophy all animals goto “Heaven.”
    They have not necessarily been given “free agancy” as us People have. a better question: Can a Dog sin? I do not think so.

    (also from “Mormon” tell her that the Rum baked off well before 350 degrees. not that that will instantly cure the guilt she may have, it does come down to personal inturpratation.)

    God bless,
    -D

  3. Andrew Says:

    This is a hilarious entry.

    I mean, I’m trying to think about whether I would be angry or laughing if it happened to me (I’m not a believing member anymore)…chili with coffee…I would not have expected that.

  4. notreallyalice Says:

    Yeah… I’m not so much a stumbling block as I am a brick thrown at you when you think you’re safest 🙂

Leave a Reply

