God loves a cheerful giver

I’ve just realized that I am a horrible giver. I mean, I enjoy giving people things and being generous as much as the next person, but when I do, I’m SO not gracious. It usually comes out like, “Here, I don’t want this, you can have it.” How horrible is that?

And that reminds me of this little kiddy Bible verse song from my childhood that goes, “God loves a cheerful giver, ha ha ha ha ha!” (You’re supposed to laugh cheerily there, and it repeats a few times.)  The chorus is “Whoever sows generously will also reap generously.”  Which is ironic, given that the last few times I’ve given something away, it’s been a packet of seeds that I never got around to propagating.  (Pomegranate and eggplant, in case you were wondering.)

So I hereby resolve to be a more gracious giver.

Tags:

One Response to “God loves a cheerful giver”

  1. Jim Thornber Says:

    I’ve often found that it is easier to give away things (like eggplant seeds) than it is to give away parts of yourself like love, time, a listening ear or a kind word. You’re right — its not much of a gift to give something we don’t like. This is why God’s gift of His Son is such a challenge. He gave the best that He had. Me? I’ll try to give the best of what I don’t really want. OUCH!

    Thanks for the challenging post.

    Blessings,

    Jim

Leave a Reply

