awkward

I was just staggering back to my desk after a massage when one of my coworkers asked me how I was, and I told him, “great.”  Because after a massage, I’m so relaxed that I slur a little, I walk slowly, and I look dazed and out-of-it.  I say, “I’m going to take a nap under my desk.”  The coworker laughs and says it’s easier for him to nap because his office has a door.  To which I reply:

“Is there any room under your desk?”

So, um, I think I should be mortified, but I am still very relaxed.  Maybe it wasn’t so bad.  It’s not like he responded with a leering “There’s always room under my desk for you.”  He just laughed.  Awkwardly. 

Damn it. 

Oh well.  If I’m going to be guilty of accidental inappropriate comments toward coworkers, at least this particular coworker is attractive and decent rather than weird and creepy… or am I the weird and creepy one?

Damn it again.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “awkward”

  1. Lorena Says:

    You are single, I take it. That’s the part of being single I hated. The being out in the market and always wondering what effect we are having on other people, whether we like them or not.

    However, singleness offers the comfort of independence which I miss very much. Yesterday I was telling DH that he should go on trip to Europe with the guys and he refused. “It wouldn’t be fun without you, he said.” Which is really sweet. But one’s life doesn’t have to end because one gets married, you know.

    I must mention, though, that he is a fundy Christian. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

