death

After a stressful meeting this morning, I went over to a friend’s office to borrow a stuffed animal (for hugging). Then, not 30 minutes later, I got a department email that one of the cafeteria workers from downstairs was killed in a car accident this morning. Earlier this week we learned that one of our contractors was killed in a work accident. I’m not sure which is worse: dying in a random car accident or dying after you fall through a skylight while installing solar panels. Either way someone is dead.

I try to regularly (once a month or so) spend a few minutes remembering my grandparents and others who have died, and reflecting on the fact that I and everyone I know will die someday. This practice is supposed to make me value life more; I’m not sure that it does.

I should tell you the story of how I’d like to die. First, after ordering a tool from the Acme Company, I will discard the instructions and attempt to use the tool. It will not work properly and soon thereafter [details are fuzzy] I will accidentally run off the edge of a cliff, but I won’t notice until I look down, look back up, wave, and then fall.

The fall will not kill me.

I will then notice a giant safe falling, and I will hold up a sign that says “Oh no!” The safe will fall on me, but then the door will open and I will stagger out. Stars will be floating around my head.

Then, a grand piano will fall on me.  The lid will open and I will stand up, and you might notice that my mouth is full of piano keys when I try to smile.

Finally, an anvil will fall towards me, and I will pull out a very small umbrella, which I will deploy, but the anvil will fall on me. This will finally kill me.

That’s the plan, anyways.

Tags:

6 Responses to “death”

  1. temaskian Says:

    I too, have been thinking a lot about death. The reason could be that I’ve been christian since young, so I had been shielded from thinking properly about death, that death really means total annihilation of everything that I am.

    I used to assume, and was taught ardently, that death was just the beginning of a new chapter of our lives, like a butterfly breaking out of its chrysalis. Somehow I must have fallen for all that propaganda.

    Now that I’m a non-believer, I have to look at death from a totally new perspective, and sometimes the thought just haunts me. The concept of totall nullity.

    It’s like falling to the ground from 10,000 feet with total nonchalance, and only at the last thousand feet to start wondering about a parachute.

  2. Sisyphus Fragment Says:

    I would prefer that I accidentally wander into a piece of warped spacetime that simply causes me to not exist anymore.

  3. Lorena Says:

    I think it would be easier to die than to stay behind. Even when strangers die around us we experience some sort of grief, as exemplified by you. When loves go, I think we go with them a little. A part of us is missing for ever after that.

    So my death isn’t something I worry too much about. I do fret about when my husband goes.

    • Sisyphus Fragment Says:

      Honestly, I would prefer not to die. My real interest is in how societies form and how they work. I would love to see the changes mankind has ahead of them in the next couple thousand years. When I think about it it depresses me greatly to know I’m not likely to even step foot off this planet, but maybe I’ll at least get to converse with a self aware, intelligent robot.

  4. Lorena Says:

    That was “When a loved one goes,”

Leave a Reply

