Unconditional Love

I don’t know about you, but I don’t believe in unconditional love.  Just add it to the “no such thing” list.

Unconditional Love was the topic of discussion at last Sunday School, and it was starting to go in a bad direction.  I’ll spare the details, but I finally put my hand up and offered the following.

“I have a condition.  If my husband ever hits me or abuses me, it’s over.”

Of course my poor spouse turned bright red when I said that  🙂  But it was just a week ago when a woman in the class confided in me about her abusive husband, and the abuser was there for all this Unconditional Love talk, and let me tell you, that’s a weapon you don’t aimed at your head if you’re the one being abused.  “You can’t leave me, God says so.”

So anyway, my statement started a more interesting debate than we usually have (which isn’t saying much), and we came to the conclusion that if there was abuse going on, anyone in danger should leave the relationship and leave the house– hopefully not permanently, but separation is advised.  Also, I amended my statement about conditions for loving my spouse.  It’s not so much a condition for loving him, but a condition for living with him.  But that was, strictly speaking, a lie.  Honestly, if he ever hit me, I can’t see how I’d love him anymore.

But there are probably plenty of abused women who have said that.

Still don’t really know what love is, though, or what unconditional love would look like.  It’s probably a myth.  Which is ironic, considering another conclusion from Sunday School: God is the only one who can love unconditionally.  And you really don’t want to think about what that looks like.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Unconditional Love”

  1. Temaskian Says:

    Unconditional love is not even biblical. It was probably thought up by some Christian philosopher or theologian like CS Lewis.

    Unless sending people to hell is also considered love. I get it now. They re-define love to be inclusive of causing hurt to others. In fact, it’s inclusive of anything that God does. In that sense, it’s unconditional. God does things to people randomly at times, regardless of the condition of that person, whether he’s a sinner or a saint. So it’s unconditional in the sense that His actions are totally unpredictable and irrational, and even at times, immoral. So God gets the Get Out of Jail for Free card regardless of anything he does. What a convenient concept for Christians!

    Another revelation for me.

Leave a Reply

