Bad influence

Small Group was last night.  The opening question was, “Which Bible character are you?”  The first character who popped into my head was this one:

Deuteronomy 25:11-12: If two men are fighting and the wife of one of them comes to rescue her husband from his assailant, and she reaches out and seizes him by his private parts, 12 you shall cut off her hand. Show her no pity.

“Whichever woman inspired that law!” I said.  “I’m her.”  Later I changed my mind to Lilith, who doesn’t really count since she’s not in the Christian Bible.  But I did get to say “demon-spawn” in Bible Study, which surely doesn’t happen every day.

But then there’s Jael, how could I forget her!

That’s all off-topic, actually.  I was sitting there last night, listening to people talk about the questions they have, and the struggles, and I had to wonder what kind of bad influece they’d let me be.  Not during the actual Bible time, no sir.  They’d all gang up on me.  But if one of them called me and said, “Hey, I know you’re not a Christian, so I wonder what you’d think of this…”  I wonder.  I sit with all these Christians and just marvel at their refusal to entertain the notion that there might be no god, that their live could be easier and maybe even better if they could reject superstition.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I feel superior to them in any way; I know I was exactly like that, and not very long ago.  But I guess I’ve been outside the faith long enough to really see their limits and wonder if I could help them break those limits.

What would this world be like?

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Bad influence”

  1. atimetorend Says:

    I recently read Karen Armstrong’s biography, “Through the Narrow Gate,” about her becoming a nun and then eventually leaving the order disillusioned. There’s a scene near the end of her time there where she is becoming an outsider, and another nun visits her to ask her about sex. It is as though someone could approach her about a forbidden topic only once she was not one of them anymore.

    I love your idea of being able to discuss things like that with Christians. I have done that a little with a friend; I think she is timid about asking, almost like she knows she is hearing of forbidden fruit, of how some things can be simpler outside the circle of faith. At least I hope she is hearing things that way.

    Did you really say those things in your small group? Either you have a more accepting or liberal small group than mine, or you have just done a great job of conditioning them to hear things like that. Sounds fun.

  2. kingdomkeysbooks Says:

    I am just curios about what you consider “limitations”. My perspective is probably from the oposite angle (extreme skeptic and nay sayer turned Christian). I am not looking for an arguement or heated discussion, I am just wondering.
    Glenn

    • notreallyalice Says:

      I just mean the limitations they place on themselves, what they believe, how they see the world, etc. Everyone has them. I’m sure my life seems narrow to some people. But my point was that their beliefs add unnecessary stress in their lives.

Leave a Reply

