Close call

The Sunday School class I attend with my husband (“Marriage Enrichment”) has a mid-week meeting, which we don’t attend, since it is on Thursday and we have Bible Study that day.  But this week, the Sunday School mid-week thing is Tuesday.  And my husband asked me if I was busy.

So in my head, I said something like this.  Jesus Christ on a bike!  How much church do I have to go to?  This is getting ridiculous.

I was opening my mouth to say “No thanks” when I remembered: I am busy on Tuesday!  So instead I said, “I am busy!  Yes.  I am.  Busy.  Tuesday.  Yes.”

(Tuesday is an Atheist Meetup!)

But my point is, I have to watch out.  I don’t want to start getting passive aggressive about not wanting to go to church functions.  If I don’t want to go, I’ll just say so, and I won’t make excuses or start being obnoxious in hopes that they request I not come back.  I think I’ll have to quit Thursdays on account of them starting to drive me a little crazy.  They are so conservative.  It’s frustrating.  For example, I informed one woman that it’s possible to accept evolution and still be a Christian.  “What??”  She said.  “Yes,” I said.  I was a little alarmed by her reaction.  “There are plenty of Christians who accept evolution.” 

I don’t think she believed me. 

Anyways, I am afraid I am starting to be an unpleasant addition to the Bible Study, and I don’t want their only experience with an atheist to be unpleasant.  I wouldn’t like it if a Christian came to my Atheist Meetups and started preaching to me and disagreeing with everything I say.

Plus, for Bacchus sake!  I’m an atheist.  I don’t want to go to church.  I don’t benefit from Bible Study.  And I certainly don’t want to be everyone’s pet prodigal to convert and pray for.  They surely have better things to do.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Close call”

  1. Sisyphus Fragment Says:

    I don’t blame you at all. I’m fairly lucky in that my Catholic lady doesn’t go to mass nor does she want me to attend. I’ve been once, out of respect for her family when we visited them, but other than that I’ve been very fortunate.

  2. atimetorend Says:

    The evolution thing is annoying. I can remember two occasions when someone tacked on the words, “…6,000 years ago,” to something I said about the earth. Insane and annoying.

    You might be everyone’s pet prodigal anyway. I’ve been informed people are still praying and fasting for me, and this is at least 9 months since my prodigal-ness became public knowledge. Sigh…

    • notreallyalice Says:

      Yeah I know… I just don’t want to be treated like a prodigal 🙂 One woman is always making comments like, “I don’t know how anyone could hear that [someone’s testimony] and not be a Christian.” I don’t think I am supposed to respond though.

Leave a Reply

