crushes and coming out

I have a confession.

I have crushes on at least five people right now– that’s five off the top of my head.  If I pay more attention and take notes as I go about the week, I’m sure the number would be a lot higher.  Come to think of it, I bet I’m a little bit in love with all my friends.

It sure feels good to be able to admit that.  Even if this is an anonymous blog that nobody I know in real life reads… still.  There are so many different kinds of love; it’s nice to know that people are all kinds of beautiful and wonderful, and I can appreciate them.

Also, I just had lunch with some coworkers.  And you can add one to the list of people who know I’m an atheist.  She’s a Christian and it didn’t bother her in the slightest.  It was maybe a little condescending when she said, “It’s okay if you don’t believe in him; he’s still real.”  But still.  She didn’t even blink, and that was nice.

Tags: ,

One Response to “crushes and coming out”

  1. atimetorend Says:

    That’s great, that “people are all kinds of beautiful and wonderful, I can appreciate them.” I felt that as a Christian, but there was always the bad voice saying, “You are only allowed to appreciate them so far, then you have to tell them they need to change and be someone different to be OK.” In other words, not all kinds of beautiful and wonderful really.

    “Even if this is an anonymous blog that nobody I know in real life reads…”

    A funny turn of phrase, I keep thinking the same thing and shy away, because in one sense, the anonymous blog *is* real life. But of course you’re right, it isn’t real life in what I consider real life relationships. It’s a strange thing, cyberspace, compounded with anonymity.

    Not really ATTR

Leave a Reply

