everything is okay

I don’t know if anyone read my last blog before I changed the privacy setting.  But I’ll just pretend it’s not there.  I’ll just say my husband and I are still together, and everything looks like it might actually work out.

Instead, I’ll share an email I received from an old friend.  She finally noticed my Facebook says “atheist”.  So I get this.

I’m going to say something about your loss of faith in God which might embarrass or anger you, but I’m going to say it anyway. I  want to say that just because other people in your life haven’t succeeded in the Lord, or haven’t had a life in God you were interested in imitating, doesn’t mean you can’t.

I’m not sure where she got that idea about my “loss of faith”.  I did explain how it happened to her.  And I’m not sure how to follow up a clarification on what it means to be an atheist without making reference to Santa Claus.  And that might be a little mean.  But I’ll give it my darndest.  

Sad, tired, confused, and swearing like a sailor, but only in my head.  I don’t really know what to do with myself.  Don’t even want to read, which is unusual to say the least.  So I’m drinking black coffee and getting to work.

One Response to “everything is okay”

  1. atimetorend Says:

    Glad things are working out for you. It is very tiring, feeling a need to defend or explain what you believe or don’t believe to any number of people, because you have changed and somehow it seems implied the onus is on you to defend yourself. “Loss of faith,” “crisis of faith,” “etc.” Maybe others should have their own “crisis of faith” and let them see where it takes them.

    Don’t know about you, but the prospect for marriage seems to go up and down with my spouses acceptance of who I am. An out of no where, “Why do you hate all the people I love?” does not precipitate warm feelings in me for the future of my marriage. Then the next day everything is great, but it gets tiring waiting for things to get better.

Leave a Reply

