pest problems

I may be a backyard homesteader, but I haven’t exactly got rows of veg and trees bursting with fruits… and that’s for one reason. Well, two: rats and gophers. They’ve got me covered for ground and air assault. The gophers have robbed me of two tomatoes and one lovely squash, and the rats have taken all the walnuts and they will take the pomegranates the very night they all ripen. We got one gopher in the last month. And tonight we had a small victory over the rats.

The problem is that my housemates are reeeaaal big animal lovers and would strongly prefer that no small furry cute thing be harmed in the making of this farm. Me? I say, fuck that. The critters are eating our food and that’s money in our pockets. I won’t take any pleasure from killing the critters but I will do it without guilt. And tonight, I did.

We set one trap with peanut butter and twenty minutes later, the dogs started barking. So my housemate hands me a 2×4 and watches from a distance while his wife holds the flashlight for me. And I whacked the shit out of a poor little rat with its nose caught in a trap. The little dude was literally squirming around, dangling by its nose.

So that’s a good start. Hopefully we can get the yard cleared of critters by next Spring (no problem, really, unless I lose my 2×4) and I can really get crackin making things grow. Sobering that something had to die so I could do it.

One Response to “pest problems”

  1. pete Says:

    That`ll teach em

Leave a Reply

