mind altering beverages

It should come as no surprise that I have been dealing with some depression and anxiety lately.  How have I been dealing with it?  Mostly by self-medicating, sleeping half the day, and trying to get some exercise.  I sometimes remember to get some sunlight.

Recently, though, I decided I have to quit alcohol and coffee– especially alcohol.  It’s been about two weeks and I don’t feel like I miss either.

So if you see me drinking coffee, and say, “Alice, is that coffee?  And do I smell Pumpkin Spice Coffeemate?”

No.  It is Kafree, or maybe Teeccino, which is some herbal health-nut barley fake-coffee shit.  But never fear; you were right on the Pumpkin Spice Coffeemate.

And if you see me out with my friends drinking a Guinness, it’s because I only have one rule about drinking: I can only have a drink when I’m already happy and having a good time.  There will certainly be no drinking if I can’t sleep or if I’m stressed.  The only problem I anticipate is if someone buys or prepares me a drink.  What am I going to say, no?  But I stay in and watch South Park for the most part.

Court is next week.  I imagine my mood will be a great deal changed after that.

Leave a Reply

